Te Kete Ipurangi Navigation:

Te Kete Ipurangi

Te Kete Ipurangi user options:

English Online. Every child literate - a shared responsibility.
Ministry of Education.



National Certificates of Educational Achievement (NCEA) are New Zealand's national qualifications for senior secondary students. NCEA is part of the National Qualifications Framework, along with approximately 1000 other qualifications. They are administered and quality-assured by the  New Zealand Qualifications Authority.

In English, students can study for NCEA at levels 6, 7, and 8 of the New Zealand Curriculum. Standards are offered across all modes – written, visual and oral – and all achievement objectives (Purposes and audiences; Ideas; Language; and Structure).

Schools are encouraged to plan flexible pathways for learners that recognise their diverse abilities, interests, and aspirations.

Choosing your own path through NCEA
Kristan Mowat, head of media studies at Logan Park High School, describes how her school empowers students to set goals and make choices. Students can select their learning pathways through flexibility with NCEA internals and externals, and the standards that match their interests and needs.

Key Resources

NCEA – Resources for internally Assessed Achievement Standards: English 
On this page you will find NZQA quality assured assessment resources to support internally assessed Level 1, 2, and 3 registered achievement standards for English aligned with The New Zealand Curriculum.

NZQA: NCEA English Resources
A wide range of resources, including curriculum and standards documents, external and internal assessments, and exemplars.

Scholarship English: on the NZQA site includes all Scholarship English resources, including standards, exemplars, specifications, and exam material.

Useful resources

Updated on: 10 Dec 2020